
ORDER OF THE STATE OF WISCONSIN NATURAL RESOURCES BOARD 

REPEALING, AMENDING AND REPEALING AND RECREATING RULES 

 

 

 

 

 

        

 

WM-20-03 

 

 

Analysis Prepared by Department of Natural Resources 

 

Statutory authority:   §. 29.014, 29.041, 29.197 and 227.11(2)(a), Stats.  

Statutes interpreted:  §. 29.014, 29.041 and 29.197, Stats.  

 

The proposed rules establish the regulations for the 2003 migratory game bird season.  The significant regulations are: 

  

Section 1. Ducks - The state is divided into two zones each with 60-day seasons.  The season begins at noon September 27 and continues 

for 60 consecutive days in the north, closing on November 25. In the South the season begins at noon on October 4 and continues through 

October 12, there would be a 5-day split, and then reopens on October 18 and continues through December 7. The daily bag limit is 6 

ducks including no more than: 4 mallards, of which only one may be a hen, one black duck, one pintail (from Sept. 27 (noon) – Oct. 26 in 

the North and from Oct. 4 (noon) – Oct. 12 and Oct. 18 – Nov. 7 in the South), one canvasback  (from Sept. 27 (noon) – Oct. 26 in the 

North and from Oct. 4 (noon) – Oct. 12 and Oct. 18 – Nov. 7 in the South), 2 wood ducks, 2 redheads and 3 scaup.  

 

Canada Geese - The state is apportioned into 3 goose hunting zones: Horicon, Collins and Exterior.  Other special goose management 

subzones within the Exterior Zone include Brown County, Burnett County, Rock Prairie and the Mississippi River.  Season lengths are: 

Collins Zone - 67 days (3 periods, first period beginning September 16); Horicon Zone - 93 days (4 periods, first period beginning 

September 16); Exterior Zone - 93 days (North: Sept. 20 – 26 and Sept. 27 (noon) – Dec. 21 and South: Sept 20 – Oct. 3 and Oct 4 

(noon) – Dec. 21); and Mississippi River Subzone - 70 days (Oct. 4 (noon) – Oct. 12 and Oct. 18 - Dec. 17). The Burnett County subzone 

is closed to Canada goose hunting. The statewide daily bag limit for Canada geese is 2 birds per day during the open seasons within each 

zone. In addition, the daily bag limit for Canada geese in subzone B during the early September goose hunt is increased from 3 to 5 geese, 

which would first take effect in Sept. 2004. 

 

Section 2. Eliminates a separate listing for pintail and canvasback seasons.  

 

Section 3.  This section modifies the date of the two-day youth waterfowl hunt. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Wisconsin Natural Resources Board proposes an order to repeal NR10.01(1)(d) and (dm), amend NR 

10.01(1)(v) and to repeal and recreate NR 10.01(1)(b), (g)1., (g)2.a. to k., (g)3.a. to k., and (u)1.and 2. 

relating to the 2003 migratory game bird season. 

 



 

SECTION 1.  NR 10.01(1)(b), (g)1., (g)2.a. to k., (g)3.a. to k., (u)1. and (u)2. are repealed and recreated to read: 

 
 

 

Kind of Animal 

 

 

Locality 

 

Open season (all dates 

inclusive)  

 

 

Daily Bag Limit 

 

 

Possession Limit 

 

NR 10.01(1)(b) 

All species of wild 

duck  

 

Entire state 

 

As established by zone 

 

As established by season and 

zone 

 

Double the daily bag 

limit through the entire 

season, except opening 

day when it is the same 

as the daily bag limit. 

 

 Northern zone as 

established in s. NR 10.32 

Sept. 27 at 12:00 noon – 

Oct. 26 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Oct. 27 – Nov. 25 

6 ducks to include not more 

than 4 mallards of which 

only one may be a hen 

mallard, one black duck, one 

canvasback, one pintail, 2 

redheads, 2 wood ducks, and 

3 scaup.  In addition 5 

mergansers to include not 

more than one hooded 

merganser.  

 

6 ducks to include not more 

than 4 mallards of which 

only one may be a hen 

mallard, one black duck, 2 

redheads, 2 wood ducks, 3 

scaup, 0 canvasbacks, and 0 

pintails.  In addition 5 

mergansers to include not 

more than one hooded 

merganser. 

 

 

 

 

Southern zone as 

established in s. NR 10.32 

Oct. 4 at 12:00 noon – 

Oct. 12  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Oct. 18 – Nov. 7 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 ducks to include not more 

than 4 mallards of which 

only one may be a hen 

mallard, one black duck, one 

pintail, 2 redheads, 2 wood 

ducks, 3 scaup, and 0 

canvasbacks.  In addition 5 

mergansers to include not 

more than one hooded 

merganser. 

 

6 ducks to include not more 

than 4 mallards of which 

only one may be a hen 

mallard, one black duck, one 

pintail, one canvasback, 2 

redheads, 2 wood ducks, and 

3 scaup.  In addition 5 

mergansers to include not 

more than one hooded 

 

 



 

 

merganser. 

 

 

 

Kind of Animal 

 

 

Locality 

 

Open season (all dates 

inclusive)  

 

 

Daily Bag Limit 

 

 

Possession Limit 

 

 

 Nov. 8 – Nov. 16 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Nov. 17 – Dec. 7 

6 ducks to include not more 

than 4 mallards of which 

only one may be a hen 

mallard, one black duck, one 

canvasback, 2 redheads, 2 

wood ducks, 3 scaup, and 0 

pintails.  In addition 5 

mergansers to include not 

more than one hooded 

merganser. 

 

6 ducks to include not more 

than 4 mallards of which 

only one may be a hen 

mallard, one black duck, 2 

redheads, 2 wood ducks, 3 

scaup, 0 canvasbacks, and 0 

pintails.  In addition 5 

mergansers to include not 

more than one hooded 

merganser. 

 

 

 

NR 10.01(1)(g) 

Geese 

1. Canada geese and 

its subspecies 

a. All that part of the 

exterior zone lying within 

the northern zone 

established in s. NR 10.32 

except for the subzone 

described in subd. 1.b. 

Sept. 20 – Sept. 26 and 

Sept. 27 at 12:00 noon – 

Dec. 21  

2 4 

 b. Brown County  subzone Sept. 20 – Sept. 26 and 

Sept. 27 at 12:00 noon – 

Dec. 21 

 

2 4 

 

 

c. All that part of the 

exterior zone lying within 

the southern zone 

established in s. NR 10.32 

except for the zones and 

subzones described in this 

subd. 1. d. to k. 

Sept. 20 – Oct. 3 and 

Oct. 4  at 12:00 noon – 

Dec. 21 

 

2 

 

 

 

 

4 

 

 

 

 

 

 

d. Burnett county subzone 

 

None 

 

None 

 

None 

 
 

g. Horicon zone 

 

Four permit periods:  

 

 

 

The possession limit is 

equivalent to the number 

of carcass tags issued. 

  Sept. 16 – Oct. 3 and 

Oct. 4 at 12:00 noon - 

Oct. 26 

2  

  Sept. 27 - Oct. 3 and Oct. 2  



4 at 12:00 noon – Nov. 7 



 
 

 

Kind of Animal 

 

 

Locality 

 

Open season (all dates 

inclusive)  

 

 

Daily Bag Limit 

 

 

Possession Limit 

 

 

 

 

 

Oct. 11 - Nov. 21  

 

2 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Nov. 1 - Dec. 17 

 

2 

 

 

 

 

 

h. Collins zone 

 

Three permit periods:  

 

 
The possession limit is 

equivalent to the number 

of carcass tags issued. 
 

 

 

 

 

Sept. 16 – Oct. 3 and 

Oct. 4 at 12:00 noon - 

Oct. 5 

 

2 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Oct. 6 - Oct. 26 

 

 

2 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Oct. 27 - Nov. 21 

 

2 

 

 
 

 

 

i. Rock Prairie subzone 

 

Sept. 20 – Oct. 3 and 

Oct. 4  at 12:00 noon – 

Dec. 21 

 

 

2 

 

4 

 

 

 

k. Mississippi river 

subzone 

 

Oct. 4 at 12:00 noon – 

Oct. 12 and Oct. 18 -  

Dec. 17  

 

2 

 

4 

 

L. Early goose hunt 

subzone A as established in 

s. NR 10.31 (11) 

 

Sept. 1 — Sept. 15 

excluding the Saturday, 

Sunday and Monday of 

Labor Day weekend 

5 10 

 

m. Early goose hunt 

subzone B as established in 

s. NR 10.31 (11), 

excluding the Burnett 

county subzone as described 

under s. NR 10.31 (1) (b). 

Sept. 1 — Sept. 15 

excluding the Saturday, 

Sunday and Monday of 

Labor Day weekend 

5 10 

Note: Season dates listed in this subd. may be closed early when the harvest may exceed the level authorized, according to the procedure in s. 

NR 10.125(6). 

 

2. Snow or blue 

and Ross’ geese 
Entire state 

 

As established by zone 

 

10 20 

 

 

 

a. All that part of the 

exterior zone lying within 

the northern subzone 

established in s. NR 10.32 

except for the subzone 

described in subd. 2.b. 

 

Sept. 20 – Sept. 26 and 

Sept. 27 at 12:00 noon – 

Dec. 21 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

b. Brown county subzone 

 

Sept. 20 – Sept. 26 and 

Sept. 27 at 12:00 noon – 

Dec. 21 

 

 

 

 



 
 

 

Kind of Animal 

 

 

Locality 

 

Open season (all dates 

inclusive)  

 

 

Daily Bag Limit 

 

 

Possession Limit 

 

 

 

c. All that part of the 

exterior zone lying within 

the southern zone 

established in s. NR 10.32 

except for the zones and 

subzones described in this 

subd. 2. d. to k. 

 

 

Sept. 20 – Oct. 3 and 

Oct. 4  at 12:00 noon – 

Dec. 21 

 

 

 

 

 

  

d. Burnett county subzone 

 

Sept. 20 – Oct. 3 and 

Oct. 4  at 12:00 noon – 

Dec. 21 

 

  

 

 

 

g. Horicon zone 

 

Sept. 16 – Oct. 3 and 

Oct. 4 at 12:00 noon – 

Dec. 17 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

h. Collins zone 

 

Sept. 16 – Oct. 3 and 

Oct. 4 at 12:00 noon – 

Nov. 21 

 

 

 

 

 

 
i. Rock Prairie subzone Sept. 20 – Oct. 3 and 

Oct. 4  at 12:00 noon – 

Dec. 21 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

k. Mississippi river 

subzone 

 

Oct. 4 at 12:00 noon – 

Oct. 12 and Oct. 18 -  

Dec. 17 

 

 

 

 

 

3. All other geese and 

brant 

 

Entire state 

 

As established by zone 

 

1 white-fronted goose and 

1 brant 

 

2 white-fronted geese and 2 

brant 
 

 
a. All that part of the 

exterior zone lying within 

the northern zone 

established in s. NR 10.32 

except for the subzone 

described in subd. 3.b. 

 

Sept. 20 – Sept. 26 and 

Sept. 27 at 12:00 noon – 

Dec. 21 

 

 

 

 

 

 

b. Brown county subzone Sept. 20 – Sept. 26 and 

Sept. 27 at 12:00 noon – 

Dec. 21 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

c. All that part of the 

exterior zone lying within 

the southern zone 

established in s. NR 10.32 

except for the zones and 

subzones described in this 

subd. 3. d. to k. 

 

 

Sept. 20 – Oct. 3 and 

Oct. 4  at 12:00 noon – 

Dec. 21 

 

 

 

 



 
 

 

Kind of Animal 

 

 

Locality 

 

Open season (all dates 

inclusive)  

 

 

Daily Bag Limit 

 

 

Possession Limit 

 
d. Burnett county subzone Sept. 20 – Oct. 3 and 

Oct. 4  at 12:00 noon – 

Dec. 21 

  

 

 

 

g. Horicon zone 
Sept. 16 – Oct. 3 and 

Oct. 4  at 12:00 noon – 

Dec. 17 

 

 

 

 

 

 
h. Collins zone Sept. 16 – Oct. 3 and 

Oct. 4  at 12:00 noon – 

Nov. 21 

 

 

 

 

 

 
i. Rock Prairie subzone Sept. 20 – Oct. 3 and 

Oct. 4  at 12:00 noon – 

Dec. 21 

 

 

 

 

 

 
k. Mississippi river 

subzone 

Oct. 4 at 12:00 noon – 

Oct. 12 and Oct. 18 -  

Dec. 17 

 

 

 

 

 

NR 10.01(1)(u) 

1. All species of wild 

ducks, mergansers and 

coots except 

canvasbacks 

 

Northern zone as 

established in s. NR 10.32 

 

Sept. 20 -  Sept. 21, 

Sept. 27 at 12:00 noon - 

Nov. 25 and Jan. 27 - 

Mar. 10 

 

3 in aggregate with those 

species listed under subd. 

2 

 

6 in aggregate with those 

species listed under subd. 

2  

 

 

Southern zone as 

established in s. NR 10.32 

Sept. 20 - Sept. 21, Oct. 

4 at 12:00 noon – Oct. 

12, Oct. 18 – Dec. 7 and 

Jan. 26 -  Mar. 10 

 

3 in aggregate with those 

species listed under subd. 

2 

6 in aggregate with those 

species listed under subd. 

2 

2. Gallinules, Sora 

rail, Virginia rail, 

common snipe and 

woodcock  

 

Entire state Sept. 1 -  Dec. 16 3 in aggregate with those 

species listed under subd. 

1 

6 in aggregate with those 

species listed under subd. 

1 

 

 

SECTION 2.  NR 10.01(1)(d) and (dm) are repealed.  

 

SECTION 3.  NR 10.01(1)(v) is amended to read: 

 

NR 10.01(1)(v) Special youth waterfowl hunt event.   Persons 12 years of age or older but under 16 years of age who possess a 

certificate of accomplishment under s. 29.591, Stats., or its equivalent from another state or province, may hunt all species of wild duck, 

mergansers, geese, coots, and gallinules for 2 consecutive days starting on September 21September 20.  Approvals under ch. 29, Stats., are 

not required pursuant to s. 29.197 (1), Stats., except for registration in the harvest information program under s. NR 10.12 (11) and a 

Canada goose hunting permit for the zone where goose hunting, as listed in par. (g) 1., if hunting Canada geese.  Daily bag l imits are those 

described under pars. (b), (c), (dm) and (g) and all other waterfowl hunting regulations apply. Hunters shall be accompanied by an adult 18 

years of age or older. One adult may not accompany more than 2 hunters.  

 

 



SECTION 4.  EFFECTIVE DATE. The rules shall take effect on the first day of the month following publication in the Wisconsin 

administrative register as provided in s. 227.22(2)(intro.), Stats. 

 

SECTION 5.  BOARD ADOPTION .  This rule was approved and adopted by the State of Wisconsin Natural Resources Board on August 

13, 2003. 

  

 Dated at Madison, Wisconsin          . 

 

 

      STATE OF WISCONSIN 

      DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES 

 

 

 

      By        . 

       Scott Hassett, Secretary 

 

(SEAL) 


